wishing and throwing coins in the fountain

wishing and throwing coins in the fountain

I wish I knew you

When I was better

I wish I knew you when I didn’t believe in fairytales

I wish I knew you after, later

I wish you weren’t my screw up

I wish I knew you when I knew there were lines

And they weren’t meant to be crossed

“Stay in the lines”

I wish I knew when I knew how to color in the lines

I wish I knew you after my artwork was just good enough to hang on the fridge

Because now I can hang in the MoMa, the Met, the Louvre

But I knew you when I believed in wishing on stars, when glass slippers fit and you were my Prince Charming, when throwing coins in fountains meant they came true

When I throw my next coin instead of throwing it behind me, I’ll throw it forward because that’s where I am going so I can see my wish

I won’t wish blindly this time

My wishes will not be coins that will sink to the bottom of the fountain

to be fished out by someone else, abandoned

they will float up like dreams to become stars in the sky

Luckily the adult version of wishing is hoping

and that I do have

Leave a Reply

