Thick Skin

The racial words and slurs don’t even phase

Familiar to ears

But they still drive me crazy

Daddy sits you on his knee

Mama does your hair

They both say dont you dare think the world is this amazing place

Grow up

Stand tall

Put your armor on

Grow thick skin

Hard and strong

To protect you from all the wrong

It’ll keep warm and ease the bullets that come your way

The words and slurs hurt initially

But they stopped because of frequency

My armor has been on for so long I forget I have it on

It becomes a part of me

My identity

Until those nearest to me who are supposed to understand load up their verbal guns and spew bullets like rain

Piercing like the sound of fireworks leaving me shocked

And I stand there and wish I had my rain jacket and listened to my parents and never took off my armor

Leave a Reply

